I am in love with hope.

For a long time now, I have thought that a part of myself was dead.  It was my belief that this this part of myself, this characteristic that made me who I was, had been taken from me through a series of unfortunate events in my life and would never be restored.

It seemed I no longer had any faith in mankind.  Everywhere I looked, people were cheating, robbing, and hurting others.  I couldn’t see how anyone could make a difference.  My life and the world around me seemed bleak and my faith was shaken.   

A part of me has always believed in fairy tales and in happy endings, but during this time in my life I no longer felt that feeling of hope; that feeling of faith that everything will work out.  It seemed like everyone I saw, from coworkers to government officials, only cared about themselves.  My complete lack of faith in humanity was threatening to change who I was and it scared me.

I’m not sure what started it, if it was some sort of outside trigger or some spark of hope that had managed to avoid being extinguished, but recently sparks of faith have started to reappear.  These little “sparks” have built on each other until I feel like I am close to being the person I was before.  I feel like I may actually be able to make a difference in this world.

I know I still have a long way to go, but for now I am trying and that is all I can really do.  I am trying to be the person I want to be. I am thankful for this mending of my soul, which is helping me to feel what I thought I would never feel again: Hope.

I equals Hopeful.

Leave a Reply

