15 Minute Writing Exercise 1: She Looked Over At Her Father

Wedded Hands

Wedded Hands (Photo credit: adamjonfuller)

She looked over at her father, nervousness covering her features.

“Dad, what if I fall?  Oh, God.  What if I trip over my dress?” she whispered frantically.

“I will catch you.  Just like I did when you were five and climbed the tree in the backyard.  You were so scared, but when I told you to be brave and jump into my arms, you did.  I will catch you.  Or like when I used to put you on top of the fridge and you trusted me enough to jump off.  Be brave and take this jump, I will catch you.”  Her father replied with tears in his eyes.

Just then, the music started to play, that was their queue to start down the aisle.  For a split second, she thought her feet weren’t going to move.  Panic filled her, but an image of her future husband flashed through her mind and it was gone as quickly as it had come.

“I’m ready.”

She took a deep breath as her father opened the doors to the chapel and slowly moved one foot in front of the other.  As she looked up, she caught sight of her groom waiting at the end of the aisle.  Their eyes met and any last minute panic she had melted away.   After three years, he still had the power to take her breath away.  She couldn’t believe how lucky she was to have found this man.  Surprised to find the walk was already over, she looked up at the Holy Cross behind the Pastor as her father let go of her arm.


I equals Excited about all of the weddings coming up!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment