15 Minute Writing Exercise 2: When in Rome

Gas mask

Gas mask (Photo credit: Anita_Ro)

I didn’t always know what I wanted to be when I grew up, but I knew I wanted to make some sort of dent on the world.  It wouldn’t be until years later that I would realize what I would do to make that happen.

I usually don’t pay much attention to what is going on around me, but today I made sure to store the details in some back corner of my brain for future analysis.  The crack in the cement under my shoes with shoots of spring grass popping up between pieces of concrete reminded me that winter was finally over.  It had been a long, bleak winter and at times I hadn’t been sure how I was going to survive without blowing my brains out.  All those feelings magically disappeared as soon as that first real spring day appeared.

A glimpse of myself in the store window to my left briefly distracted me from my thoughts.  I looked like a mess, but who wouldn’t after what I had just been through.  My brown hair stuck up in a way that hair stylists are always trying to recreate.  Pretty sure they call it “bed-head”, although mine was created from wind rather than sleeping.  As if to prove that I haven’t been sleeping, my attention was drawn to the dark, puffy circles under my eyes.  Not sleeping for 48 hours will do that to a body.  At least some of my eye-shadow was still intact.  They really weren’t kidding in the commercial when they said that stuff would stay on through just about anything.

I’m sure the people walking down the street around me thought I was crazy.  Who wouldn’t?  I looked like hell.  Considering I had just been through hell, it would be fitting that I would look the part.  As I turned away from my reflection, I had to yank up the size 38 men’s trousers I happened to be wearing.  The tattered rope that was tied around my waist just wasn’t meant to be a belt.  The pants seemed to be constantly fighting my efforts to keep them around my waist.  My shirt didn’t seem to be cooperating either, but why would it?  Nothing was going my way today.


I equals Satisfied.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

