Learn-from-my-mistakes Monday: Not Spending Time with Loved Ones Before it is Too Late

tombstone shadows

tombstone shadows (Photo credit: Rick Payette)

One of my biggest regrets in life is not spending more time with my beloved Grandmother before she passed away.  She loved me more than anyone else on this entire planet and I feel like I completely let her down.  At the time I was just a stupid teenager who wanted to spend my time hanging out with her friends, not in a smelly nursing home with my ailing Grandma.  Now, as an adult, I randomly think of that time and cry.  I was so selfish back then!  I would give anything to get a do-over for that part of my life!  She would have done anything for me and I couldn’t even spend a couple of hours away from my friends to visit with her…

I now know that spending time with loved ones is one of the most important things I can do in life.  I don’t want to miss a minute with my family, because they can be taken away in an instant.  I cherish each and every moment I have with them!  When I start to get frustrated with something they are doing, I try to step back and think of my Grandma – how I would give anything for another moment with her, even a frustrating moment!  There may be other things that seem like more fun than hanging out with those we love, but don’t make the same mistake I made!  Spend time with the ones you care about before it’s too late!

Leave a Reply

