Learn-from-my-mistakes Monday: Marrying Too Soon

Rita and John's Marriage Certificate

Rita and John’s Marriage Certificate (Photo credit: mary hodder)

Wait until you really know someone before you marry them!  I only knew my (now) ex-husband a month and a half before we took the plunge into marriage “bliss” and it was one of the biggest mistakes I ever made.  Granted, most people wait a little longer than a month and a half to get married, but sometimes even six or eight months is too short of a time to get to know someone.  My mother used to always tell me that you should live with (or at least date) a person through ALL four seasons before agreeing to marry them.  I’m guessing it’s because people have a tendency to go crazy in the summer and get depressed in the winter?  I don’t really know, but either way, I’d say it is sound advice.

Anyway, I obviously didn’t listen and my ex-husband turned out to be a crazy, womanizing cheater.  We ended up splitting up and getting back together over and over and over.  He’d do something horrible, I’d leave, he’d beg me to come back, etc.  It was pretty awful!  So please learn from my mistake and take the time to get to know a person before taking the giant leap into Holy Matrimony!  This time around I’ve been with my boyfriend for a year and a half… and I’m still not ready to get married!  (Although we are currently *accidentally* expecting a bundle of joy any moment, but that’s a completely different topic)  We are planning on getting married eventually, but are currently “un-engaged” due to matters that came up while in the process of getting to know each other better.  I am very, very glad that we didn’t rush into things, so we were able to deal with these matters BEFORE getting hitched!

One thought on “Learn-from-my-mistakes Monday: Marrying Too Soon

  1. Pingback: Mistakes Made In Marriages | Forget About Divorce

Leave a Reply

