Learn-from-my-mistakes Monday: Using my children’s picture as my Facebook Profile Picture

Facebook logo Español: Logotipo de Facebook Fr...

Facebook logo Español: Logotipo de Facebook Français : Logo de Facebook Tiếng Việt: Logo Facebook (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I used to use my children’s pictures as my Facebook profile picture all the time without a second thought.. that is until I thought about who could be looking at it.  I had thought about it before, but I figured the odds of some perv looking at my kid’s picture were pretty slim.  I mean, there are a million Facebook profile pictures with people’s kids, right?  Well, I was working at a pizza place a few years ago and I happened to have a perv-y coworker who was a sex offender.  One day I came into work and he was talking to me.  He asked me how if I had gone to a fair or something that weekend.  A little freaked out, I said that I had and asked how he knew.  Turns out he had looked me up on Facebook and had seen my profile picture of my son on a merry-go-round.  I decided then and there not to post pictures of my kids publicly on Facebook… not because I didn’t know who could be looking, but because I DID know who could be looking.

FYI: The man I am referencing was not just a sex offender, but a sex offender convicted of sexual conduct with minors.  I did not allow my children to visit my work ever.

Leave a Reply

