Learn-from-my-mistakes Monday: Sitting down in the middle of cleaning

A number of cleaning brushes.

A number of cleaning brushes. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I make this mistake just about every time I try to clean my house.  I’m working, I’ve gotten into a groove, I’m getting stuff done… then I decide to take a break and I SIT DOWN.  Biggest mistake EVER!  It usually goes like this:

I’m working and I hear my stomach growl, so I decide to take a quick break for lunch.  I figure that while I’m eating, I can turn the TV on, so I take a minute to find a show to watch.  The microwave timer goes off and I sit down with my food…. then, four shows later, I realize that I have finished my food, but I am still sitting down and I’ve wasted two hours.

But sometimes it goes like this:

I’m working and I’m really, really tired…. I say to myself “Self, you are really tired.  It’s not going to hurt anything if you sit on that nice comfy chair for a minute.  Go ahead.  You deserve a short break.”  So I sit down, just for a minute, and the next thing I know I’m waking up two hours later.

There are a few other scenarios as well, but I think you get the point.  Generally, when I sit down in the middle of cleaning my house, I lose about two hours somewhere into the great house-cleaning time warp.

Leave a Reply

