Learn-from-my-mistakes Monday: Hitting the Snooze

Alarmed!

My fiance has been scheduled to work at 6:00 in the morning lately, so we’ve been going to bed at 9:30 every night.  You would think that since we’re going to bed that early, I would be able to get my ass out of bed and get things done before work, right?  Wrong.

My typical morning:I briefly wake up as Jeff gets up and grumble when he turns on the lights and wakes up the baby.  Then I fall back asleep while feeding the munchkin, promising myself I’ll wake up when my alarm goes off in a half hour…My alarm goes off, but when I check it, it’s actually been an hour and I must have hit the snooze in my sleep.  Feeling cheated out of my snooze-time, I hit it one more time.  When I wake up again, it’s about 7:00 AM and I finally get out of bed, knowing that I won’t have any time to do anything extra before I leave for work… which is kind of crazy since I don’t work until 10:30.

Since I failed in my mission to actually get up and accomplish things (such as clean or write)

in the morning, the only time I can do these tasks is when I get home from work at 7:30pm.  Unfortunately, when I get home there’s a bunch more to do like eat, tuck my son in, and get ready for bed.  By the time all of that has been taken care of and I can finally start working on the things I should have done in the morning, my fiance complains that he wants to go to bed… and he, of course, can’t sleep without me in the bed with him.  Which would be really, really sweet… if I didn’t have 10,000 things I wanted to do before going to sleep.  I try to get the dishes cleaned up and the laundry put away quickly, but more often than not I just cave and go to bed.  This leads to me not getting anything done around the house.  Ever.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

